Thanksgiving Dinner

25 Nov

Busy morning!  I’ve been up since 6 a.m. preparing food, but I have to confess I was so overwhelmed that I did not take pictures!!

However, I do want to post about what I have made and plan to eat in a few hours:

Quinoa Stuffed (Buttercup) Squash

Delicious, and with a Latin twist!  I used buttercup squashes instead of acorn, because they are sweeter and I was lucky enough to obtain them from a friend.

Lentil Roulade with Chestnut Stuffing

I haven’t sat down to dinner yet, but it is absolutely delicious from what I sampled.  The outer dough of the roulade is made from lentils, bread crumbs and Earth Balance, and the inner stuffing is chestnuts, bread crumbs and sage.  I did change the recipe slightly, however, by adding garlic, celery, and an apple to the stuffing.

For my family, I also prepared two trays of roasted veggies with garlic, olive oil, and rosemary.  I used potatoes, sweet potatoes, turnips, parsnips, fennel, carrots, and onions.  Yum!

With all the hustle and bustle, I did not take pictures of the process, but I did take one picture of my plate, after serving it:

Clockwise from the top:  mystuffed buttercup squash, cranberry sauce, my roasted veggies, my roulade (that fell apart), mashed potatoes, and stuffing.  A very satisfying Thanksgiving dinner!

Leave a Reply

